Crop Insurance List 2023 Maharashtra


In Maharashtra, agriculture plays a vital role in the state’s economy. However, farmers face various challenges, including unpredictable weather conditions, pests, and diseases that can damage their crops. To mitigate these risks, the government of Maharashtra has implemented a crop insurance scheme. This scheme provides financial protection to farmers in case of crop failure or damage due to natural calamities. In this article, we will provide you with the crop insurance list for the year 2023 in Maharashtra.

Crop Insurance List

The crop insurance list for 2023 in Maharashtra includes a wide range of crops that are covered under the scheme. Some of the major crops covered are:

  • Paddy
  • Wheat
  • Jowar
  • Bajra
  • Maize
  • Tur
  • Moong
  • Urad
  • Soybean
  • Cotton
  • Sugarcane
  • Groundnut
  • Sunflower
  • Vegetables (Tomato, Onion, Potato, etc.)
  • Fruits (Mango, Banana, Grapes, etc.)

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list, and there may be other crops covered under the scheme as well. It is advisable to consult with the concerned authorities or visit the official website for the complete crop insurance list.

Eligibility Criteria

To avail the benefits of the crop insurance scheme in Maharashtra, farmers need to fulfill certain eligibility criteria. Some of the key requirements are:

  1. The farmer should be a resident of Maharashtra.
  2. The farmer should be the owner or tenant of the land on which the crops are grown.
  3. The farmer should have a valid bank account.
  4. The farmer should have the necessary documents related to the cultivation of crops.

These are general eligibility criteria, and there may be additional requirements depending on the specific guidelines of the scheme. It is recommended to check the official website or contact the concerned authorities for detailed information.

How to Apply

To apply for crop insurance in Maharashtra, farmers can follow these steps:

  1. Visit the official website of the Maharashtra State Agricultural Insurance Board (MSAIB).
  2. Register yourself as a farmer by providing the required details.
  3. Fill in the application form with accurate information about your crops and cultivation practices.
  4. Submit the necessary documents, such as land records, bank account details, etc.
  5. Pay the applicable premium amount, if any, as per the guidelines of the scheme.
  6. Once the application is submitted, you will receive an acknowledgment receipt.

It is important to keep the acknowledgment receipt safe for future reference.

Claim Process

In case of crop failure or damage, farmers can file a claim under the crop insurance scheme. The claim process involves the following steps:

  1. Inform the concerned authorities about the crop loss or damage as soon as possible.
  2. Submit the necessary documents, such as photographs, crop cutting reports, etc., to support your claim.
  3. The authorities will conduct a verification process to assess the extent of crop loss or damage.
  4. Once the claim is approved, the insurance amount will be transferred to the farmer’s bank account.

It is important to file the claim within the specified time frame mentioned in the scheme guidelines to avoid any delays or rejections.


The crop insurance scheme in Maharashtra provides a safety net for farmers against crop failure or damage. By knowing the crop insurance list for 2023 and understanding the eligibility criteria and application process, farmers can avail the benefits of this scheme. It is advisable to stay updated with the latest information and guidelines provided by the authorities to make the most of the crop insurance scheme.